Attention: You are using an outdated browser, device or you do not have the latest version of JavaScript downloaded and so this website may not work as expected. Please download the latest software or switch device to avoid further issues.

History of SMCOGA

When in about 20 years time our meetings leave the happy family gatherings stage, we shall need your mature judgement and loyal support in establishing an Old Girls’ Association capable of binding the past and the present in unity and strength.

Sister Winifred 1913


The Old Girls of St Margaret's College first met in 1913, organised by Sister Winifred, the College's first Headmistress.

Meeting four or five times a year, the Old Girls contributed sewing for the annual missionary bazaar and hosted literary and musical afternoons and evenings. Their first event was an Upper School Girls’ dance held on 10 June 1914, commemorating the opening of the new school.

By 1916, steps were taken to formally establish the St Margaret’s College Old Girls’ Association. Sister Nancy convened a meeting during which a committee was formed, rules were drafted, and the year’s functions were planned. The Association’s first official meeting took place on 1 November 1916. Guided by St Margaret’s founding value of dedication to a higher purpose, the committee suggested secular and religious readings and encouraged members to work for the Red Cross and support a child at St Saviour's Orphanage.

The first reunion was held in 1922, featuring an Annual General Meeting (AGM), a dance in the school hall, and an afternoon gathering hosted by the Sisters.

By 1928, the AGM was moved to coincide with St Margaret’s Day. Around this time, Janet Storry, a former day student, returned from England, bringing renewed energy to the Association. In 1930, Janet was appointed as the Association’s first President. This coincided with the Sisters' return to England and the Diocesan Board of Education taking over the school's running.

With the creation of the president's role, the Old Girl blazer was introduced—cream with a silver badge and dark Saxe lettering and cord. In 1939, a new-style blazer was introduced: light green with pockets monogrammed in silver and nickel-plated buttons featuring the school badge in relief. The previous year's Head Prefect still wears this blazer today at the College’s Annual Founders’ Day service. 

Tennis became a popular connection point for early Old Girls’ events. Betty Thomas donated the Tennis Challenge Cup for an annual competition between the Old Girls and current students.

At the same time, Janet Storry gifted a tennis shield for a tournament among Christchurch's four independent schools: St Margaret’s, Christ’s College, Rangi Ruru Girls’ School, and St Andrew’s College.

In 1931, the Association introduced bridge evenings and established the annual debutante ball. In 1938, Old Girls who had attended the school between 1910 and 1920 formed the Armagh Circle, which met each Wednesday.

To help others benefit from a St Margaret’s College education, the Old Girls' Scholarship Fund was established in 1937. The Endowment Fund followed this in 1942, which allowed the Old Girls’ Association to make substantial donations to the College every six years. In 1947, the Old Girls’ Scholarship was introduced to support the daughter of an association member. In 1976, the Nolene Vale Scholarship Fund was established. Today, the association offers a Fees Assistance Scholarship for descendants of alumnae in Years 12 and 13.

The Association has also provided support for the St Margaret’s campus, providing the Library (as well as book plates and furniture) and the Assembly Hall for the new school at Shrewsbury Street in 1959. In 1967, the Association donated gates for the Winchester Street entrance. The general Old Girls' community support for the campus continued notably in 2012 when they rallied around an initiation from The Foundation and raised over $300,000 to support the construction of what is now The Old Girls’ Atrium. The campus was further enhanced in 2019 with the consecration of St Mark’s Chapel, a 115-year-old church donated to the school by alumna Gina Satterthwaite.

Today, the St Margaret’s College Old Girls’ Association’s mission is to "Nurture connections—past, present, and future." It supports a vibrant, supportive community of alumnae in New Zealand and worldwide. Alumnae give back to the College and its students through mentorship, inspiration, and other contributions. They are invited to events across New Zealand and internationally and receive regular updates on their former classmates and teachers. 

Over 150 current students are descendants of alumnae, with a growing number representing the fifth generation of their family to attend the College.

Introduced in 1996, hundreds of alumnae now wear the Leavers' Ring from their final term of Year 13 onward. This cherished symbol is a beautiful reminder of their time at St Margaret’s and makes Old Girls instantly recognisable to one another, fostering connections worldwide.

Find us

12 Winchester Street 
Merivale
Christchurch 8014

PO Box 25094
Christchurch 8140

Privacy Policy